Nevada Recreation .us / NevadaGunRental.com / RenoGunRental.com / NevadaMachinegun.com / LakeTahoeRecreation.com / Tahoeatvs.com / Mountainsurvival.com / LakeTahoeAtvRental.com
The following is a summary of State of Nevada and local gun laws, where applicable: Please double check with local law enforcement to get any updates to the laws.
Nevada has a "Statewide Pre-emption" law, so counties and localities cannot pass gun laws that are more stringent than the state law. The NSRPA had a lot to do with getting this law passed in Nevada. Clark County (Las Vegas area) had some laws which pre-date the pre-emption (they were "grandfathered") and are still in place.
Generally, for any area not designated a "no shooting" or "congested area," shooting is allowed 1,000 yards from any dwelling or structure. Your backstop and "down range" area must be secure from pedestrian, livestock, or vehicle traffic. Safety is of the greatest importance because of your individual responsibility to ensure public safety. You are responsible and liable for your actions.
We know of two gun storage facilities in Nevada for those who are unfortunately oppressed by California’s gun laws and arbitrary gun banning. Front Sight Firearms Training Academy in Pahrump (owners of the newly re-opened Nevada Pistol Academy in Blue Diamond) and Impact Indoor in Sparks both store firearms securely at their facilities. You can take advantage of Nevada as a safe-haven, or mecca, for storing firearms. Reach them at:
* Nevada Pistol Academy 702-897-1100
* Impact Indoor: 775-359-5599
Registration of Firearms
Clark County (minus Boulder City) requires registration of handguns only. All other counties have no registration of any guns. For Clark County, the first handgun purchase includes a 72 hour "cooling off" period. A handgun registration card (commonly known as a "blue card" because of its light blued color) is issued for each registered handgun, and must stay with the gun. Examples: If you take the gun to shoot at the range, you must take its blue card also. If you loan the gun to a friend, you must make sure he has the card with it. You may register your handgun at any branch of the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department (bring it to them UNLOADED AND IN A SAFE MANNER). If you sell or give away the handgun, you are obligated to have the registration transferred into the name of the new owner. If you wish to purchase other handguns, your "cooling off" period is waived if you have your blue card present.
Brady Background Check
All counties implement the national background check through the Nevada Highway Patrol. By State Law, any private party may access Nevada's background check system for the purpose of checking the background of a potential gun purchaser. Currently, the check costs $25.00. Call your local NHP if you wish to access this system.
All Federal, State, and local laws and ordnances apply to the sale, possession, purchase, and transportation of firearms at gun shows just as they do elsewhere.
In Nevada, you may carry a loaded or unloaded firearm on your person without a permit so long as the firearm is fully exposed (known as "open carry"). An example of open carry is when a handgun is carried in an "outside the pants" hip holster. Full or partial concealment (such as a purse, jacket, etc.) is considered "concealed carry" and is discussed below.
Concealed Carry (CCW)
On July 7, 1995, Senate Bill 299 was signed into law, and soon afterward, thousands of Nevada residents took advantage of the State law that allowed them to carry a handgun concealed upon them. A steady stream of Nevadans have been obtaining carry of concealed weapon (CCW) permits ever since. In 1999, Assembly Bill 166 improved upon the existing law by making legal concealed carry possible in more public places.
Our own have fought hard for the CCW law, state-to-state CCW reciprocity, and improvements to the law. Volunteers in the Nevada State Rifle and Pistol Association (NSRPA) helped draft and pass both bills. The violent crime rate in Nevada has dropped ever since 1995. NSRPA continues to fight for the best interests of gun owners and sportsmen through our volunteer-based, separate, political action committee, Nevada Victory.
Out of State CCW Permits
Largely due to the efforts of NSRPA's separate PAC (the Nevada Victory Fund), Nevada now has non-resident concealed carry permits. The permit term is three years. It goes into effect October 1, 2001. Due to anti-gun sentiments, "reciprocity" got re-written by the 2001 Nevada Legislature. As a result, NO OUT-OF-STATE CCW permits are honored in Nevada.
States that Honor Nevada CCW Permits
This list is always changing due to the political climate in each state. Please check with http://www.packing.org for the latest updates.
Can I Carry a Concealed Firearm?
It is illegal for a person to carry a concealed firearm on his person, loaded or unloaded, unless he has a valid concealed weapon permit, or is legally entitled to do so otherwise.
Can I Conceal a Firearm Without a Permit?
Without a CCW permit, a firearm may be concealed in your home or vehicle as long as it is not on your person, concealed by your person, or in a personal item (such as a purse, backpack, briefcase) carried by you.
How Do I Get a CCW Permit?
A concealed weapon permit may be obtained by a Nevada resident who is 21 years of age or older by:
1. Successfully completing a CCW course approved by your County Sheriff. The Sheriff will have a list of approved instructors and how to contact them. NSRPA also maintains a list of these instructors for each County.
2. Completing the forms provided by the Sheriff’s Office and submitting them with the appropriate fee. A set of fingerprints and photograph will be taken, as well as certain other information, such as your driver’s license number.
3. Upon the successful completion of the background check, a concealed weapon permit will be issued to you for up to two handguns you specify in your application.
What are Grounds for Denial?
Of course, a permit will not be issued to a person who is an ex-felon who has not had his civil rights legally restored, including the right to possess firearms.
The statute also provides that a permit will not be issued to a person who:
1. Currently has a warrant outstanding for his arrest.
2. Has ever been declared by a Judge to be either incompetent or insane.
3. Within the past five years has been admitted to a mental health facility.
4. Within the past five years has been a habitual user of alcohol or controlled substances, or been convicted of driving under the influence (DUI), or been committed to a rehabilitation program for alcohol or controlled substances.
5. Within the past three years has been convicted in any state of a misdemeanor of a violent nature, or involving force, or threatened use of force.
6. Has been convicted of a felony in any state.
7. Has been convicted of a crime involving violence or stalking, or under a restraining order for domestic violence.
8. Is on parole or probation.
9. Within the past five years has been a subject of a court requirement imposed as a condition of withholding a judgment of conviction of a felony, or suspension of a sentence for conviction of a felony.
10. Has made a false statement on an application for a concealed weapon permit.
Must I Have the Permit With Me?
Wherever you carry a concealed firearm, you must also carry your permit and proper identification. You are required to produce both when requested by a peace officer.
Where Can I Not Carry Concealed?
As a permittee, it is illegal for you to carry firearms while on the premises of a public airport, public school or university, or public building with a metal detector at the door or a sign informing you that concealed firearms or weapons are prohibited, unless you have written permission to carry on those premises. A public building includes buildings and premises of the Federal, State, and local governments or school districts.
Is the Permit Valid Statewide?
Even though the permit is issued in the County where you live, it is valid throughout the State of Nevada (be aware of public building and property restrictions as above). It is also recognized in 6 other states (Utah and Idaho are nearest). Be sure to check transportation and carry laws before traveling out of state.
What is Included on the Permit?
The two gun limit on a given permit has been removed by State law. The law requires that the permittee qualifies and is certified on each gun he or she wishes to have on the permit. If a person carries two guns of the same make and model there is no need to qualify twice. The implementation of this law is delayed until July 1st, 2002, at the request of Clark County and Las Vegas.
Other Sources of Information
* The Concealed Carry Database http://www.Packing.org
* NRA-ILA's page http://www.nraila.org/recmap/usrecmap.htm
Transportation of Firearms
If an individual is not hunting, loaded firearms may be carried in a vehicle. During hunting, all firearms must be entirely unloaded before being placed in the vehicle (not after!). Handguns must not be concealed on a person in a vehicle unless that person holds a CCW permit issued in Nevada. Handguns must not be concealed on or by a person's body unless that person holds a CCW permit issued in Nevada. This is true while driving, also.
Canada Targets Nevada Residents
If you plan on visiting any part of Canada, be sure to be aware of their new gun laws. You cannot bring any firearm into Canada without declaring it and paying a C$50.00 fee for a permit. If you have Nevada plates on your vehicle you get treated to a special search of your vehicle that takes quite a while because the custom agents have been told that residents from Nevada are all to be suspected of carrying concealed guns. This also applies to a few other states, but not to California because the Canadian government knows they are more civilized (read - more Socialistic). This on top of filling out, in triplicate, a long form. We recommend that all members and their friends avoid Canada until further notice.
A person must hold a Nevada hunting license to hunt game animals in this state. Licenses can be obtained at most stores carrying gun or fishing items. There are many minor hunting laws that must be followed, especially for transportation, location, times, seasons, etc. These can be obtained where hunting licenses are sold, or at the nearest office of the Nevada Division of Wildlife (NDOW). See the "Hunters' Den" page of this site for more on hunting.
Nevada State Firearms-Related Laws & Regulations
State laws can be searched online through the State Legislature's web site at: www.leg.state.nv.us.